IIS and SMTP - #5.1.1 SMTP; 550 <name@company.com>... Relaying denied>

This is Interesting: Free IT Magazines  
Home > Archive > IIS and SMTP > February 2004 > #5.1.1 SMTP; 550 <name@company.com>... Relaying denied>





You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

Author #5.1.1 SMTP; 550 <name@company.com>... Relaying denied>
Big Al

2004-02-23, 11:34 pm

Strange one this.

Last week I could send to this domain- no problems.
I have made no configuration changes to both our Exchange
server or mail relay and yet suddenly I receive this
message.
#5.1.1 SMTP; 550 <name@company.com>... Relaying denied>

We definately do not have an open relay and I don't
beleive we are on a spammers list. We can send out to
anywhere else and the target domain can receive e-mails
from other companies, so the problem does seem to be at
our end.

Any idea's anyone???


Alexander Nikolayev [MSFT]

2004-02-24, 7:34 am

This is really strange because 5.1.1 has nothing to do with relaying, it
corresponds to the recipient that does not exist at the org the mail was
sent to. The CAT can also issue this NDR when it encounters illegal chars
in addr821.
Try to telnet to the server in question and submit mail manually. If it
fails the problem is on their end (what I tend to think).
Strange indeed.

--
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
Please do not send email directly to this alias. This alias is for
newsgroup purposes only.
"Big Al" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:05c501c3fad3$82db7610$a301280a@phx.gbl...
> Strange one this.
>
> Last week I could send to this domain- no problems.
> I have made no configuration changes to both our Exchange
> server or mail relay and yet suddenly I receive this
> message.
> #5.1.1 SMTP; 550 <name@company.com>... Relaying denied>
>
> We definately do not have an open relay and I don't
> beleive we are on a spammers list. We can send out to
> anywhere else and the target domain can receive e-mails
> from other companies, so the problem does seem to be at
> our end.
>
> Any idea's anyone???
>
>



Sponsored Links






Free braindumps | Software forum | Database administration forum

Copyright 2003 - 2008 webservertalk.com