IIS and SMTP - unknown users emailing from my exchange 2k box

This is Interesting: Free IT Magazines  
Home > Archive > IIS and SMTP > May 2004 > unknown users emailing from my exchange 2k box





You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

Author unknown users emailing from my exchange 2k box
Eric

2004-05-30, 11:53 am

I have gone through and setup the exchange 2000 box with all the proper relay settings, yet it's still relaying. I have 3 other servers that aren't having this issue. I have logging turned on, and I can see that people are somehow sending emails from my
server with what would appear to be a valid email account... they are not.

I'm at a loss here. As I stated, all anti-relay settings are in place, and all unnecessary user accounts are disabled. I am still getting reports in the log, however, that would say something like; maryjane@domain.com. This is not a valid user account,
nor has it ever been. I'm at a loss!!

Someone please help me!!! All the invalid emails are killing my bandwidth, not to mention I'll probably end up on a blacklist somewhere!

Thanks,

Eric
Jeff Cochran

2004-05-30, 11:53 am

On Thu, 27 May 2004 22:31:02 -0700, "Eric"
<anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

>I have gone through and setup the exchange 2000 box with all the proper relay settings, yet it's still relaying. I have 3 other servers that aren't having this issue. I have logging turned on, and I can see that people are somehow sending emails from m

y server with what would appear to be a valid email account... they are not.
>
>I'm at a loss here. As I stated, all anti-relay settings are in place, and all unnecessary user accounts are disabled. I am still getting reports in the log, however, that would say something like; maryjane@domain.com. This is not a valid user account

, nor has it ever been. I'm at a loss!!
>
>Someone please help me!!! All the invalid emails are killing my bandwidth, not to mention I'll probably end up on a blacklist somewhere!


Is it possible you're receiving emails with these addresses in a CC or
BCC field?

Jeff
Sponsored Links






Free braindumps | Software forum | Database administration forum

Copyright 2003 - 2008 webservertalk.com