|
Home > Archive > IIS and SMTP > July 2004 > Some Messages stay in queue
You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread.
To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to
this thread please [click here]
| Author |
Some Messages stay in queue
|
|
|
| I have XP Pro with IIS 5.1 and I want to send emails using ASP.NET. I've configured my Virtual SMTP Server to 127.0.0.1 under relay restrictions. I am using the following code to send my email:
Imports System.Web
Imports System.Web.Mail
Dim mm As New Mail.MailMessage
mm.To = "MyName@MyHostedDomain.com"
mm.Cc = "MyOtherName@Mindspring.com"
mm.From = "MyName@MyHostedDomain.com"
mm.Subject = "Testing the Email through ASP.Net"
mm.Body = "This is just a test mail. Looks like it passed"
SmtpMail.SmtpServer = "127.0.0.1"
SmtpMail.Send(mm)
My internet connection is via DSL (it is NOT a static IP).
The emails seem to generate correctly but they end up in the Queue folder in C:\Inetpub\mailroot\Queue.
Surprisingly, the Cc: address DID receive an email, but the To: address did NOT.
Can you explain why one will work but not the other?
Is this an ISP issue?
Is it possible to have both emails go out without using SmartHost?
Thank you in advance.
ZLA
| |
| Kristofer Gafvert 2004-07-28, 6:18 pm |
| It sounds like a problem with the domain in the To-field, since you could
send to the other domain. Since you are not using a static IP, your server
will not be considered to be a real email server, and many email servers
will reject the email, deny a connection attempt, or something else to
prevent spam.
Have you looked in the Event Log? It might tell you what is wrong.
(Start->Run, eventvwr.msc )
I suggest that you use a SmartHost, that will probably work best.
Why it worked to one domain, but not to the other? They probably use
different techniques to filter spam.
--
Regards,
Kristofer Gafvert - IIS MVP
http://www.ilopia.com - When you need help!
"ZLA" <ZLA@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:A419D8D3-0F9D-4216-8076-BCF3BD00DFF3@microsoft.com...
> I have XP Pro with IIS 5.1 and I want to send emails using ASP.NET. I've
configured my Virtual SMTP Server to 127.0.0.1 under relay restrictions. I
am using the following code to send my email:
>
> Imports System.Web
> Imports System.Web.Mail
>
> Dim mm As New Mail.MailMessage
> mm.To = "MyName@MyHostedDomain.com"
> mm.Cc = "MyOtherName@Mindspring.com"
> mm.From = "MyName@MyHostedDomain.com"
> mm.Subject = "Testing the Email through ASP.Net"
> mm.Body = "This is just a test mail. Looks like it passed"
> SmtpMail.SmtpServer = "127.0.0.1"
> SmtpMail.Send(mm)
>
> My internet connection is via DSL (it is NOT a static IP).
>
> The emails seem to generate correctly but they end up in the Queue folder
in C:\Inetpub\mailroot\Queue.
>
> Surprisingly, the Cc: address DID receive an email, but the To: address
did NOT.
>
> Can you explain why one will work but not the other?
> Is this an ISP issue?
> Is it possible to have both emails go out without using SmartHost?
>
> Thank you in advance.
>
> ZLA
| |
|
| Thank you.
I decided to rerun my test without the CC: address. I also wrapped my code in a Try Catch block with a breakpoint inside the Catch section.
Surprisingly, no exception is raised, nor does anything show up in the Event Log.
Would it be correct to assume that the emails are going to the domain but that the domain is discarding them without returning any type of error? When I send an email to the valid address, it is removed from the queue folder, but not when there is an "inv
alid" address.
Thanks again.
ZLA
"Kristofer Gafvert" wrote:
> It sounds like a problem with the domain in the To-field, since you could
> send to the other domain. Since you are not using a static IP, your server
> will not be considered to be a real email server, and many email servers
> will reject the email, deny a connection attempt, or something else to
> prevent spam.
>
> Have you looked in the Event Log? It might tell you what is wrong.
> (Start->Run, eventvwr.msc )
>
> I suggest that you use a SmartHost, that will probably work best.
>
> Why it worked to one domain, but not to the other? They probably use
> different techniques to filter spam.
>
> --
> Regards,
> Kristofer Gafvert - IIS MVP
> http://www.ilopia.com - When you need help!
>
>
> "ZLA" <ZLA@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:A419D8D3-0F9D-4216-8076-BCF3BD00DFF3@microsoft.com...
> configured my Virtual SMTP Server to 127.0.0.1 under relay restrictions. I
> am using the following code to send my email:
> in C:\Inetpub\mailroot\Queue.
> did NOT.
>
>
>
|
|
|
|
|