IIS and SMTP - win2k server repeatedly listed in cbl.abuseat.org

This is Interesting: Free IT Magazines  
Home > Archive > IIS and SMTP > March 2006 > win2k server repeatedly listed in cbl.abuseat.org





You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

Author win2k server repeatedly listed in cbl.abuseat.org
msft-sql

2006-03-16, 5:52 pm

Hi All:

I have a Win2k sp4 server with a lot of domains that keeps getting listed on
cbl.abuseat.org.

I've checked the smtp logs and the server's sending a FQDN ehlo that
resolves back to the same IP address it's sending on, as per CBL's standard
for appropriateness.

The server does not have any trojans/viruses and only sends mail using SMTP
service.

Does anyone have any pointers or debug suggestions for diagnosing what's
triggering the listing?

TIA


geek-y-guy

2006-03-17, 7:50 am

> I have a Win2k sp4 server with a lot of domains that keeps getting listed
> on cbl.abuseat.org.
>
> I've checked the smtp logs and the server's sending a FQDN ehlo that
> resolves back to the same IP address it's sending on, as per CBL's
> standard for appropriateness.
>
> The server does not have any trojans/viruses and only sends mail using
> SMTP service.
>
> Does anyone have any pointers or debug suggestions for diagnosing what's
> triggering the listing?


Just answering my own post...I had one domain where I had set its domain to
"localhost" while debugging a separate issue, and had neglected to fix it. I
believe that was triggering its addition to CBL.


Sponsored Links






Free braindumps | Software forum | Database administration forum

Copyright 2003 - 2008 webservertalk.com