Backup Software - What's A "Keygen"?

This is Interesting: Free IT Magazines  
Home > Archive > Backup Software > September 2006 > What's A "Keygen"?





You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

Author What's A "Keygen"?
jaygreg

2006-09-09, 1:13 pm

I counld use some help understanding something I just read. I'm trying to
find to find a reputable discount source from which to by "Acronis True
Image Home 9.0" as described on their website here:

http://www.acronis.com/homecomputin...ucts/trueimage/



The product is about $50 but the price is all over the lot. It's take me two
days to discover that - despite the person on the Acronis Chat line who
emailed me that there is no difference between Acronis True Image 9.0 and
Acronis True Image Home 9.0. and despite the failure of the salesman at
CompUSA (Akron, Ohio) to know specifically what they were advertising for
$29 but out of stock.. despite these two contradictions.. There IS a
significant difference. The first requires a third party program to burn a
CD but the second does not.



Now enter this tibbit that popped up in my search:



"Download Acronis True Image Home 9.0.3666 with keygen and crack. Down.CD 4
Friends - private service for download retail full backup programs."



I don't even know what that means. Here's the site:
http://down.cd/info_1871.html



If I had to guess, I'd say someone has a specific version of the program
that they will let you download but it needs to be "cracked" somehow 'cause
it won't be considered leagal if you use it. or won't work at all without
some mickey mouse adjustment.



Q1) Just what is this guy talking about when he mentions "keygen" and
"crack"?

Q2) Anyone have any suggestion of where I can get a legal copy of this
product at something less than $50?


Chuck U. Farley

2006-09-09, 7:14 pm

> Q1) Just what is this guy talking about when he mentions "keygen" and
> "crack"?
>
> Q2) Anyone have any suggestion of where I can get a legal copy of

this
> product at something less than $50?



I don't even have to go to the website on this one, it's illegal, pirated
software. You do not want _anything_ to do with this outfit or this kind of
s/w.

You can get TI for $35 + $5 for three day shipping here:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16832200204


By checking this website you'll see they are highly reputable:

http://www.resellerratings.com/seller2121.html


Mark Blain

2006-09-10, 7:16 pm

"jaygreg" <jaygreg90@hotmail.com> wrote in
news:4502d5a5$0$13691$4c368faf@roadrunne
r.com:

> Q1) Just what is this guy talking about when he mentions "keygen"
> and "crack"?


Wikipedia is a good place to look for that kind of information.
You should not deal with anyone who offers such software.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keygen
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Software_cracking

I like and use Acronis True Image (an older version). It was a good value.
If money is an issue, there are many shareware and freeware disk imaging
programs that you can use legally. Try
http://www.thefreecountry.com/utili...pandimage.shtml
jaygreg

2006-09-10, 7:16 pm

That's exactly what I suspected. But with the cracker advertising so openly,
it's hard to believe they can get away with this. Surely large companies
like Acronis can find and prosecute these crooks. What's goin' on that they
don't? Or is this guy an idiot savant?


"Mark Blain" <mblain2@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:Xns983A9EC937D36mblainalbany@198.186.190.225...
> "jaygreg" <jaygreg90@hotmail.com> wrote in
> news:4502d5a5$0$13691$4c368faf@roadrunne
r.com:
>
>
> Wikipedia is a good place to look for that kind of information.
> You should not deal with anyone who offers such software.
> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keygen
> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Software_cracking
>
> I like and use Acronis True Image (an older version). It was a good
> value.
> If money is an issue, there are many shareware and freeware disk imaging
> programs that you can use legally. Try
> http://www.thefreecountry.com/utili...pandimage.shtml



Claudiu Spulber

2006-09-11, 1:16 am

"Surely large companies like Acronis can find and prosecute these crooks"
Not entirely true. Usually these sites are hosted on Chinese servers and the
hosting company will not even bother to answer if you request them to pull
down the website. And given that there are hundred of thousands of illegal
sites like this, Acronis would have to spend millions to close some of them.
And also think how you've got to that website, you've probably used a search
engine - surely it would be a lot easier not to index such websites or to
remove them if they are reported by software authors, but this doesn't
happen because then again we're talking about spending more than they could
gain by removing them.

--
Regards,
Claudiu Spulber
http://www.backup4all.com
http://www.novapdf.com
"jaygreg" <jaygreg90@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:450480ca$0$13685$4c368faf@roadrunne
r.com...
> That's exactly what I suspected. But with the cracker advertising so
> openly, it's hard to believe they can get away with this. Surely large
> companies like Acronis can find and prosecute these crooks. What's goin'
> on that they don't? Or is this guy an idiot savant?
>
>
> "Mark Blain" <mblain2@yahoo.com> wrote in message
> news:Xns983A9EC937D36mblainalbany@198.186.190.225...
>
>



jaygreg

2006-09-11, 7:14 am

I don't think I agree with you, Claudiu. A number of software companies (MS)
and recording companies/artists have singled out students for downloading
music and using illegal programs just to make an example. I suspect the
rationale is that when word spreads some companies are willing to prosecute,
the incidence will fail.

Anyway... I now know what "keygen" is. Thanks.

"Claudiu Spulber" <nospam@privacy.net> wrote in message
news:4504ff42$1_3@x-privat.org...
> "Surely large companies like Acronis can find and prosecute these crooks"
> Not entirely true. Usually these sites are hosted on Chinese servers and
> the hosting company will not even bother to answer if you request them to
> pull down the website. And given that there are hundred of thousands of
> illegal sites like this, Acronis would have to spend millions to close
> some of them. And also think how you've got to that website, you've
> probably used a search engine - surely it would be a lot easier not to
> index such websites or to remove them if they are reported by software
> authors, but this doesn't happen because then again we're talking about
> spending more than they could gain by removing them.
>
> --
> Regards,
> Claudiu Spulber
> http://www.backup4all.com
> http://www.novapdf.com
> "jaygreg" <jaygreg90@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> news:450480ca$0$13685$4c368faf@roadrunne
r.com...
>
>



Sponsored Links






Free braindumps | Software forum | Database administration forum

Copyright 2003 - 2008 webservertalk.com