Voice Over IP in UK - Christmas spam

This is Interesting: Free IT Magazines  
Home > Archive > Voice Over IP in UK > December 2005 > Christmas spam





You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

Author Christmas spam
Dave {Reply Address in.Sig}

2005-12-23, 5:45 pm

I notice in my spam filter a junk mail allegedly from Gossiptel, although
sent via an outfit called Atelier Studios. Fascinatingly, I ".. have
received this email because you subscribed with Gossiptel and and agreed to
receive e-mail." (The double 'and' is in the original.)

Except I don't remember doing any such things and the address to which it
was sent is not one I'd have used for the purpose anyway (the only place
it's used is as a contact for domain registration).

So, did Gossiptel fall for spammer sales talk or is it directly their fault?

--
Dave
mail da ve@llondel.org (without the space)
http://www.llondel.org
So many gadgets, so little time
Bob Evans

2005-12-23, 5:45 pm

In article <4636062.bxTMOTydtB@robinton.llondel.org>, Dave {Reply
Address in.Sig} <noone$$@llondel.org> wrote
>I notice in my spam filter a junk mail allegedly from Gossiptel, although
>sent via an outfit called Atelier Studios.


You are far from alone

>So, did Gossiptel fall for spammer sales talk or is it directly their fault?


The term "spamming bastards" comes to mind. According to RIPE, the
originating address belongs to a company called RapidSwitch Ltd. Abuse
address is given as abuse@rapidswitch.com.

--
Bob Evans
Peter Ramm

2005-12-24, 5:48 pm

On Fri, 23 Dec 2005 14:43:05 +0000, "Dave {Reply Address in.Sig}"
<noone$$@llondel.org> wrote:

>I notice in my spam filter a junk mail allegedly from Gossiptel, although
>sent via an outfit called Atelier Studios. Fascinatingly, I ".. have
>received this email because you subscribed with Gossiptel and and agreed to
>receive e-mail." (The double 'and' is in the original.)
>
>Except I don't remember doing any such things and the address to which it
>was sent is not one I'd have used for the purpose anyway (the only place
>it's used is as a contact for domain registration).
>
>So, did Gossiptel fall for spammer sales talk or is it directly their fault?


(Copied by e-mail to Peter Gradwell)

I also - but I think I have a pointer - do you use gradwell?

I use unique e-mail addresses which are "tied" to external
organisations. The e-mail address to which I was spammed was one
which I had registered with gradwell.

I have earlier e-mailed peter gradwell and look forward to an
explanation - I suspect it has been done (if it is indeed via a
gradwell mailing list) with no knowledge by gradwell at all - they
have always struck me as a moral/trust-worthy organisation which is
one reason why I chose to use them in the first place.

(As an aside I get a fair amount of spam - all phishing attempts to my
"british gas" registered e-mail address. I guess someone working in
an organisation such as BG could very easily pass on an e-mail address
list - most people would have no idea how the spammers had got the
address)

--
Pete Ramm
peter.ramm@REMOVETHISntlworld.com.INVALID

Stamp out Spam - See my anti-spam pages:
http://www.spamfreezone.org
Peter Ramm

2005-12-24, 5:48 pm

On Fri, 23 Dec 2005 14:43:05 +0000, "Dave {Reply Address in.Sig}"
<noone$$@llondel.org> wrote:

>I notice in my spam filter a junk mail allegedly from Gossiptel, although
>sent via an outfit called Atelier Studios. Fascinatingly, I ".. have
>received this email because you subscribed with Gossiptel and and agreed to
>receive e-mail." (The double 'and' is in the original.)
>
>Except I don't remember doing any such things and the address to which it
>was sent is not one I'd have used for the purpose anyway (the only place
>it's used is as a contact for domain registration).
>
>So, did Gossiptel fall for spammer sales talk or is it directly their fault?




I also - but I think I have a pointer - do you use gradwell?

I use unique e-mail addresses which are "tied" to external
organisations. The e-mail address to which I was spammed was one
which I had registered with gradwell.

I have earlier e-mailed peter gradwell and look forward to an
explanation - I suspect it has been done (if it is indeed via a
gradwell mailing list) with no knowledge by gradwell at all - they
have always struck me as a moral/trust-worthy organisation which is
one reason why I chose to use them in the first place.

(As an aside I get a fair amount of spam - all phishing attempts to my
"british gas" registered e-mail address. I guess someone working in
an organisation such as BG could very easily pass on an e-mail address
list - most people would have no idea how the spammers had got the
address)

--
Pete Ramm
peter.ramm@REMOVETHISntlworld.com.INVALID

Stamp out Spam - See my anti-spam pages:
http://www.spamfreezone.org
Dave {Reply Address in.Sig}

2005-12-24, 5:48 pm

In message <eckqq119dild6odi7dq1go9jsleujr07gv@4ax.com>, Peter Ramm wrote:

> On Fri, 23 Dec 2005 14:43:05 +0000, "Dave {Reply Address in.Sig}"
> <noone$$@llondel.org> wrote:
>
>
>
>
> I also - but I think I have a pointer - do you use gradwell?
>
> I use unique e-mail addresses which are "tied" to external
> organisations. The e-mail address to which I was spammed was one
> which I had registered with gradwell.
>
> I have earlier e-mailed peter gradwell and look forward to an
> explanation - I suspect it has been done (if it is indeed via a
> gradwell mailing list) with no knowledge by gradwell at all - they
> have always struck me as a moral/trust-worthy organisation which is
> one reason why I chose to use them in the first place.
>
> (As an aside I get a fair amount of spam - all phishing attempts to my
> "british gas" registered e-mail address. I guess someone working in
> an organisation such as BG could very easily pass on an e-mail address
> list - most people would have no idea how the spammers had got the
> address)
>

Shortly after posting that I spotted the discussion on the Gradwell
newsgroup. The lack of responses here backs up the belief that someone
nicked their mailing list.
--
Dave
mail da ve@llondel.org (without the space)
http://www.llondel.org
So many gadgets, so little time
peter.gradwell@gmail.com

2005-12-24, 5:48 pm

Hi

> Shortly after posting that I spotted the discussion on the Gradwell
> newsgroup. The lack of responses here backs up the belief that someone
> nicked their mailing list.


yeah... we don=B4t know how/why it happened. We were careful to seperate
the databases >1yr ago when we (gradwell) washed our hands of gossiptel
and hence are rather mystified & annoyed.

But Friday 23rd isn=B4t the day or time to ask complicated questions, so
doubtless we=B4ll find out what happened eventually.

cheers
peter (gradwell)

(in tenerife, so using google groups)

Jono

2005-12-24, 5:48 pm


<peter.gradwell@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:1135452879.999845.236780@g44g2000cwa.googlegroups.com...


>But Friday 23rd isnīt the day or time to ask complicated questions,
>cheers
>peter (gradwell)


>(in tenerife, so using google groups)


But surely it's Saturday in Tenerife as well?


Peter Ramm

2005-12-27, 8:45 pm

On Sat, 24 Dec 2005 16:57:22 +0000, "Dave {Reply Address in.Sig}"
<noone$$@llondel.org> wrote:

<snip>
>Shortly after posting that I spotted the discussion on the Gradwell
>newsgroup. The lack of responses here backs up the belief that someone
>nicked their mailing list.



Is it possible to cross-post the gradwell discussion with this one
please?
--
Pete Ramm
peter.ramm@REMOVETHISntlworld.com.INVALID
Sponsored Links






Free braindumps | Software forum | Database administration forum

Copyright 2003 - 2008 webservertalk.com