Christmas spam
Web Server forum
Back To The Forum Home!Search!Private Messaging System

Web Server Talk Web Server Talk > WebserverTalk Community > Voice Over IP > Voice Over IP in UK > Christmas spam




  Last Thread   Next Thread Next
  Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscribe to this Thread      Post New Thread    Post A Reply      

    Christmas spam  
Dave {Reply Address in.Sig}


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
12-23-05 10:45 PM

I notice in my spam filter a junk mail allegedly from Gossiptel, although
sent via an outfit called Atelier Studios. Fascinatingly, I ".. have
received this email because you subscribed with Gossiptel and and agreed to
receive e-mail." (The double 'and' is in the original.)

Except I don't remember doing any such things and the address to which it
was sent is not one I'd have used for the purpose anyway (the only place
it's used is as a contact for domain registration).

So, did Gossiptel fall for spammer sales talk or is it directly their fault?

--
Dave
mail da ve@llondel.org (without the space)
http://www.llondel.org
So many gadgets, so little time





[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: Christmas spam  
Bob Evans


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
12-23-05 10:45 PM

In article <4636062.bxTMOTydtB@robinton.llondel.org>, Dave {Reply
Address in.Sig} <noone$$@llondel.org> wrote
>I notice in my spam filter a junk mail allegedly from Gossiptel, although
>sent via an outfit called Atelier Studios.

You are far from alone 
[vbcol=seagreen]
>So, did Gossiptel fall for spammer sales talk or is it directly their fault?[/vbcol
]

The term "spamming bastards" comes to mind.  According to RIPE, the
originating address belongs to a company called RapidSwitch Ltd.  Abuse
address is given as abuse@rapidswitch.com.

--
Bob Evans





[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: Christmas spam  
Peter Ramm


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
12-24-05 10:48 PM

On Fri, 23 Dec 2005 14:43:05 +0000, "Dave {Reply Address in.Sig}"
<noone$$@llondel.org> wrote:
[vbcol=seagreen]
>I notice in my spam filter a junk mail allegedly from Gossiptel, although
>sent via an outfit called Atelier Studios. Fascinatingly, I ".. have
>received this email because you subscribed with Gossiptel and and agreed to
>receive e-mail." (The double 'and' is in the original.)
>
>Except I don't remember doing any such things and the address to which it
>was sent is not one I'd have used for the purpose anyway (the only place
>it's used is as a contact for domain registration).
>
>So, did Gossiptel fall for spammer sales talk or is it directly their fault?[/vbcol
]

(Copied by e-mail to Peter Gradwell)

I also - but I think I have a pointer - do you use gradwell?

I use unique e-mail addresses which are "tied" to external
organisations.  The e-mail address to which I was spammed was one
which I had registered with gradwell.

I have earlier e-mailed peter gradwell and look forward to an
explanation - I suspect it has been done (if it is indeed via a
gradwell mailing list) with no knowledge by gradwell at all - they
have always struck me as a moral/trust-worthy organisation which is
one reason why I chose to use them in the first place.

(As an aside I get a fair amount of spam - all phishing attempts to my
"british gas" registered e-mail address.  I guess someone working in
an organisation such as BG could very easily pass on an e-mail address
list - most people would have no idea how the spammers had got the
address)

--
Pete Ramm
peter.ramm@REMOVETHISntlworld.com.INVALID

Stamp out Spam - See my anti-spam pages:
http://www.spamfreezone.org





[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: Christmas spam  
Peter Ramm


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
12-24-05 10:48 PM

On Fri, 23 Dec 2005 14:43:05 +0000, "Dave {Reply Address in.Sig}"
<noone$$@llondel.org> wrote:
[vbcol=seagreen]
>I notice in my spam filter a junk mail allegedly from Gossiptel, although
>sent via an outfit called Atelier Studios. Fascinatingly, I ".. have
>received this email because you subscribed with Gossiptel and and agreed to
>receive e-mail." (The double 'and' is in the original.)
>
>Except I don't remember doing any such things and the address to which it
>was sent is not one I'd have used for the purpose anyway (the only place
>it's used is as a contact for domain registration).
>
>So, did Gossiptel fall for spammer sales talk or is it directly their fault?[/vbcol
]



I also - but I think I have a pointer - do you use gradwell?

I use unique e-mail addresses which are "tied" to external
organisations.  The e-mail address to which I was spammed was one
which I had registered with gradwell.

I have earlier e-mailed peter gradwell and look forward to an
explanation - I suspect it has been done (if it is indeed via a
gradwell mailing list) with no knowledge by gradwell at all - they
have always struck me as a moral/trust-worthy organisation which is
one reason why I chose to use them in the first place.

(As an aside I get a fair amount of spam - all phishing attempts to my
"british gas" registered e-mail address.  I guess someone working in
an organisation such as BG could very easily pass on an e-mail address
list - most people would have no idea how the spammers had got the
address)

--
Pete Ramm
peter.ramm@REMOVETHISntlworld.com.INVALID

Stamp out Spam - See my anti-spam pages:
http://www.spamfreezone.org





[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: Christmas spam  
Dave {Reply Address in.Sig}


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
12-24-05 10:48 PM

In message <eckqq119dild6odi7dq1go9jsleujr07gv@4ax.com>, Peter Ramm wrote:

> On Fri, 23 Dec 2005 14:43:05 +0000, "Dave {Reply Address in.Sig}"
> <noone$$@llondel.org> wrote:
> 
>
>
>
> I also - but I think I have a pointer - do you use gradwell?
>
> I use unique e-mail addresses which are "tied" to external
> organisations.  The e-mail address to which I was spammed was one
> which I had registered with gradwell.
>
> I have earlier e-mailed peter gradwell and look forward to an
> explanation - I suspect it has been done (if it is indeed via a
> gradwell mailing list) with no knowledge by gradwell at all - they
> have always struck me as a moral/trust-worthy organisation which is
> one reason why I chose to use them in the first place.
>
> (As an aside I get a fair amount of spam - all phishing attempts to my
> "british gas" registered e-mail address.  I guess someone working in
> an organisation such as BG could very easily pass on an e-mail address
> list - most people would have no idea how the spammers had got the
> address)
>
Shortly after posting that I spotted the discussion on the Gradwell
newsgroup. The lack of responses here backs up the belief that someone
nicked their mailing list.
--
Dave
mail da ve@llondel.org (without the space)
http://www.llondel.org
So many gadgets, so little time





[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: Christmas spam  
peter.gradwell@gmail.com


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
12-24-05 10:48 PM

Hi

> Shortly after posting that I spotted the discussion on the Gradwell
> newsgroup. The lack of responses here backs up the belief that someone
> nicked their mailing list.

yeah... we don=B4t know how/why it happened. We were careful to seperate
the databases >1yr ago when we (gradwell) washed our hands of gossiptel
and hence are rather mystified & annoyed.

But Friday 23rd isn=B4t the day or time to ask complicated questions, so
doubtless we=B4ll find out what happened eventually.

cheers
peter (gradwell)

(in tenerife, so using google groups)






[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: Christmas spam  
Jono


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
12-24-05 10:48 PM


<peter.gradwell@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:1135452879.999845.236780@g44g2000cwa.googlegroups.com...


>But Friday 23rd isnīt the day or time to ask complicated questions,
>cheers
>peter (gradwell)

>(in tenerife, so using google groups)

But surely it's Saturday in Tenerife as well?







[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: Christmas spam  
Peter Ramm


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
12-28-05 01:45 AM

On Sat, 24 Dec 2005 16:57:22 +0000, "Dave {Reply Address in.Sig}"
<noone$$@llondel.org> wrote:

<snip>
>Shortly after posting that I spotted the discussion on the Gradwell
>newsgroup. The lack of responses here backs up the belief that someone
>nicked their mailing list.


Is it possible to cross-post the gradwell discussion with this one
please?
--
Pete Ramm
peter.ramm@REMOVETHISntlworld.com.INVALID





[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Sponsored Links  




 





   All times are GMT. The time now is 05:26 PM.      Post New Thread    Post A Reply      
  Last Thread   Next Thread Next


Most Popular forums 

Forum Jump:
Rate This Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is OFF
 
Medical and Health forum | Computer Games Reviews | Graphics design forum

Back To The Top
Home | Usercp | Faq | Register