Web Server forum
Back To The Forum Home!Search!Private Messaging System

This is Interesting: Free IT Magazines Now Free shipping to   
Web Server Talk Web Server Talk > Email Servers > Sendmail support > SmartHost: IP address is not allowed to relay




  Last Thread   Next Thread Next
  Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscribe to this Thread      Post New Thread    Post A Reply      

    SmartHost: IP address is not allowed to relay  
yasi


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
03-29-04 02:33 PM

Well I've gone thru the last 3 months of archived messages for this group,
and I was unable to find this particualr problem described for anyone else.

My Setup:
My Own Domain using FC1, behind a NAT Router, Dynaminc IP from ISP

This particular message was sent directly from the server using WebMail
(happens from the command line too).  I feel like the answer is just beyond
my reach, I'm guessing it's a simple fix but after 4 days of setting up my
1st Linux box I'm just ready for someone to *thump* me on the head and point
this one out to me.  

thanks in advance!

edited to protect the innocent:
username@us.XXXXXXXXX
server.domain.net


***the bounce:

The original message was received at Mon, 29 Mar 2004 07:32:42 -0500
from localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1]

----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
<username@us.XXXXXXXXX>
(reason: 550 .net 022: Your current IP address is not allowed to relay
to
us.XXXXXXXXX Solution: Connect using BellSouth Internet Service.)

----- Transcript of session follows -----
... while talking to mx00.mail.bellsouth.net.: 
<<< 550 .net 022: Your current IP address is not allowed to relay to
us.XXXXXXXXX
Solution: Connect using BellSouth Internet Service.
550 5.1.1 <username@us.XXXXXXXXX>... User unknown
<<< 503 No recipients specified


***also attached to the bounce:

Reporting-MTA: dns; server.domain.net
Received-From-MTA: DNS; localhost.localdomain
Arrival-Date: Mon, 29 Mar 2004 07:32:42 -0500

Final-Recipient: RFC822; username@us.XXXXXXXXX
Action: failed
Status: 5.1.1
Remote-MTA: DNS; mx00.mail.bellsouth.net
Diagnostic-Code: SMTP; 550 .net 022: Your current IP address is not allowed
to relay
to us.XXXXXXXXX Solution: Connect using BellSouth Internet Service.
Last-Attempt-Date: Mon, 29 Mar 2004 07:32:43 -0500









[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: SmartHost: IP address is not allowed to relay  
Mark Daniels


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
03-29-04 08:33 PM

Configure sendmail to deliver mail directly instead of relaying your
mail to your ISP.  It is extremely unlikely that your ISP is going to
configure their mail servers as open relays for you.

Mark





[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: SmartHost: IP address is not allowed to relay  
yasi


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
03-29-04 09:33 PM

Well, since I'm on dynamic IP, and my ISP has told the internet what their
dynamic IP range is, alot of servers will not accept email from me.  One
even told me to relay thru my ISP.  heh

"Mark Daniels" <mdhmi@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:7ee5b960.0403291205.41ec8a48@posting.google.com...
> Configure sendmail to deliver mail directly instead of relaying your
> mail to your ISP.  It is extremely unlikely that your ISP is going to
> configure their mail servers as open relays for you.
>
> Mark







[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: SmartHost: IP address is not allowed to relay  
Per Hedeland


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
03-29-04 09:33 PM

In article <7ee5b960.0403291205.41ec8a48@posting.google.com>
mdhmi@yahoo.com (Mark Daniels) writes:
>Configure sendmail to deliver mail directly instead of relaying your
>mail to your ISP.  It is extremely unlikely that your ISP is going to
>configure their mail servers as open relays for you.

Wow, it seems you're living in a different universe... If there is one
service beyond plain IP connectivity that an ISP absolutely has to
provide to their customers in this day and age, it is mail relaying. Of
course this doesn't mean that they provide *open* relays. To the OP:
Check cf/README for SMART_HOST.

--Per Hedeland
per@hedeland.org






[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: SmartHost: IP address is not allowed to relay  
Marco Senft


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
03-29-04 09:33 PM

Mark Daniels wrote:

> Configure sendmail to deliver mail directly instead of relaying your
> mail to your ISP.  It is extremely unlikely that your ISP is going to
> configure their mail servers as open relays for you.

I don't agree with that. Every ISP I know of has SMTP servers that allow
relaying for their dynamic IP pool, some providers even block all other
traffic on port 25.

--
Marco Senft
Technische Treuhand GmbH        http://www.t2g.ch/





[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: SmartHost: IP address is not allowed to relay  
yasi


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
03-29-04 10:33 PM

ok re: my issue, It appears to me that I am presenting myself as
localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1], so obviously I have something configu
red
wrong.  I assume my ISP is blocking the relay because the loop back IP is
considered a bad relay.
thanks







[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: SmartHost: IP address is not allowed to relay  
David Efflandt


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
03-30-04 12:33 AM

On Mon, 29 Mar 2004 08:39:52 -0500, yasi <ron@idontlikespam.com> wrote:
> My Setup:
> My Own Domain using FC1, behind a NAT Router, Dynaminc IP from ISP
>
> This particular message was sent directly from the server using WebMail
> (happens from the command line too).  I feel like the answer is just beyon
d
> my reach, I'm guessing it's a simple fix but after 4 days of setting up my
> 1st Linux box I'm just ready for someone to *thump* me on the head and poi
nt
> this one out to me.  
>
> thanks in advance!
>
> edited to protect the innocent:
> username@us.XXXXXXXXX
> server.domain.net
>
>
> ***the bounce:
>
> The original message was received at Mon, 29 Mar 2004 07:32:42 -0500
> from localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1]
>
>    ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
><username@us.XXXXXXXXX>
>     (reason: 550 .net 022: Your current IP address is not allowed to relay
> to
> us.XXXXXXXXX Solution: Connect using BellSouth Internet Service.)
>
>    ----- Transcript of session follows -----
> ... while talking to mx00.mail.bellsouth.net.: 
><<< 550 .net 022: Your current IP address is not allowed to relay to
> us.XXXXXXXXX
> Solution: Connect using BellSouth Internet Service.
> 550 5.1.1 <username@us.XXXXXXXXX>... User unknown
><<< 503 No recipients specified

So do what it says, use BellSouth's _outgoing_ mail relay (NOT their MX).
If you are attempting to do this, but are misdirected due to MX for the
relay name, put the relay name in square brackets [smtp.bellsouth.net] o
r
whatever, so the MX will be ignored.  Even if that requires
authentication, sendmail or postfix can act as SMTP AUTH client.

You could give your box a real hostname instead of localhost.localdomain.
I use no-ip.com names and update that to my adsl IP with their client run
from /etc/ppp/ip-up (and pointed to static LAN IP in /etc/hosts).  But
since you are behind a router, you would either need to run a DNS update
client as a daemon (to periodically have them grab your public IP), or
find some way to monitor the router (possibly with syslog)  to tell when
its WAN IP changes.

--
David Efflandt - All spam ignored  http://www.de-srv.com/





[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Sponsored Links  




 





   All times are GMT. The time now is 10:42 PM.      Post New Thread    Post A Reply      
  Last Thread   Next Thread Next


Most Popular forums 

Forum Jump:
Rate This Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is OFF
 

Back To The Top
Home | Usercp | Faq | Register