Web Server forum
Back To The Forum Home!Search!Private Messaging System


Web Server Talk Web Server Talk > Email Servers > Email Abuse and Spam > What is going on?




Pages (8): [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » ... Last »   Last Thread   Next Thread Next
  Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscribe to this Thread      Post New Thread    Post A Reply      

    What is going on?  
Dima A. Smirnov


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
08-22-04 11:00 PM

Dear colleagues.
Lets start from the begining.
Looks like the only mistake we did was the signature -- ok, lets use
the real name.
There were my colleague, posting here under 'Shtir' nikname.

We are an  ISP in Moscow ans St-Petersburgh, Russia. (www.astelit.ru)
We are NOT spam hosters nor providing services to spammers.

We know what is the difference between ISP and a user.
Once again -- we are an ISP.

Once again we are not spammers nor provide we service to spammers.

It looks like the trace to the spammer involved does not contains our
IPs:

For instance:
Tracing route to teletube.net ...

1  161.58.14.161 (161.58.14.161)  0.421 ms  0.258 ms  0.256 ms
2  ge-1-2-0.378.r01.stngva01.us.wh.verio.net (204.2.127.185)  0.410
ms  0.336 ms  0.280 ms
3  xe-1-2-0-5.r20.asbnva01.us.bb.verio.net (129.250.27.190)  0.389 ms
0.404 ms  0.355 ms
4  p16-7-0-0.r02.asbnva01.us.bb.verio.net (129.250.2.83)  0.440 ms
0.425 ms  0.490 ms
5  ge6-1.cr02.ash01.pccwbtn.net (206.223.115.48)  0.514 ms  0.467 ms
0.434 ms
6  ttc.ge0-0.mr01.ldn01.pccwbtn.net (63.218.13.42)  82.128 ms  82.164
ms  82.359 ms
7  Teleport-gw.transtelecom.net (217.150.39.217)  141.507 ms  140.907
ms  140.361 ms
8  217.148.210.25 (217.148.210.25)  136.375 ms  136.434 ms  136.533
ms
9  teletube.net (217.69.112.34)  141.673 ms  142.107 ms  142.344 ms

We are clearly understand that people in the conference don't work for
us.
But the conference is an only way  to contact the SPEWS
administration. So we are posting here
not to ask others to solve our problems, but to contact SPEW
administration.

In any way it is something strange to hear salutation as an 'asshat',
while we are polite and patient.

So what can we do?

We will write to libero.it (server which refuse our mail due to
belisted in SPEW),
and show this thread.
In any way the solution like bounce all mail from Russia looks great
indeed 
Hey people -- is it a serious place or some strange one?

There was no evidence of our guilty, but we have to make explanation
here and hear
some strange response. Could you be so kind and workaround this
problem?


Dmitry Smirnov, Moscow, Russia,
Astelit Ltd,
support@astelit.ru, smirnov@astelit.ru
+7 (095) 916-9911





[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: What is going on?  
McWebber


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
08-22-04 11:00 PM

"Dima A. Smirnov" <smirnov@astelit.ru> wrote in message
news:4548b6eb.0408210338.4a8e6193@posting.google.com...
> Dear colleagues.
> Lets start from the begining.

What IP are you referring to? That would be the beginning.

--
McWebber
"Richter points to the lack of legal action against his company as proof
that he's operating appropriately."
Information Week, November 10, 2003







[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: What is going on?  
Moris


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
08-22-04 11:01 PM

smirnov@astelit.ru (Dima A. Smirnov) wrote in
news:4548b6eb.0408210338.4a8e6193@posting.google.com:

> There was no evidence of our guilty, but we have to make
> explanation here and hear some strange response.

People responding to you are hard-core supporters of the
spews blacklist. They want you to rot in hell (particularly
because you are a Russian)!

> In any way it is something strange to hear salutation as an
> 'asshat', while we are polite and patient.

Don't expect your politeness to be returned in kind. The spews
supporters are not here to welcome you or to give you support
with your ordeal.

> Hey people -- is it a serious place or some strange one?

Nanae is like a kids' playground. Seriousness is not one of its
attributes.

> We will write to libero.it (server which refuse our mail due
> to be listed in SPEW)

Yep, that's your best solution. Contact those Italians and
tell them to stop using the spews blacklist. Remind them that it
concentrates on blocking legitimate, non-spamming IP addresses.

Good luck.





[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: What is going on?  
yea right


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
08-22-04 11:01 PM

On Sat, 21 Aug 2004 17:17:42 +0000, Moris wrote:

> smirnov@astelit.ru (Dima A. Smirnov) wrote in
> news:4548b6eb.0408210338.4a8e6193@posting.google.com:

> People responding to you are hard-core supporters of the spews blacklist.
> They want you to rot in hell (particularly because you are a Russian)!

Funny because spews is hosted in Russia.





[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: What is going on?  
Moris


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
08-22-04 11:01 PM

yea right wrote:
 
>
> Funny because spews is hosted in Russia.

yea right (just quoting your nickname)





[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: What is going on?  
JerryMouse


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
08-22-04 11:01 PM

Moris wrote:
> yea right wrote:
> 
>
> yea right (just quoting your nickname)

If it were "Yeah, right" this is about the only example in English of two
positives implying a negative.







[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: What is going on?  
JerryMouse


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
08-22-04 11:01 PM

Dima A. Smirnov wrote:
> Dear colleagues.
> Lets start from the begining.
> Looks like the only mistake we did was the signature -- ok, lets use
> the real name.
> There were my colleague, posting here under 'Shtir' nikname.
>
> We are an  ISP in Moscow ans St-Petersburgh, Russia. (www.astelit.ru)
> We are NOT spam hosters nor providing services to spammers.
>
> We know what is the difference between ISP and a user.
> Once again -- we are an ISP.
>
> Once again we are not spammers nor provide we service to spammers.
>
> It looks like the trace to the spammer involved does not contains our
> IPs:
>
> For instance:
> Tracing route to teletube.net ...
>
>  1  161.58.14.161 (161.58.14.161)  0.421 ms  0.258 ms  0.256 ms
>  2  ge-1-2-0.378.r01.stngva01.us.wh.verio.net (204.2.127.185)  0.410
> ms  0.336 ms  0.280 ms
>  3  xe-1-2-0-5.r20.asbnva01.us.bb.verio.net (129.250.27.190)  0.389 ms
>  0.404 ms  0.355 ms
>  4  p16-7-0-0.r02.asbnva01.us.bb.verio.net (129.250.2.83)  0.440 ms
> 0.425 ms  0.490 ms
>  5  ge6-1.cr02.ash01.pccwbtn.net (206.223.115.48)  0.514 ms  0.467 ms
> 0.434 ms
>  6  ttc.ge0-0.mr01.ldn01.pccwbtn.net (63.218.13.42)  82.128 ms  82.164
> ms  82.359 ms
>  7  Teleport-gw.transtelecom.net (217.150.39.217)  141.507 ms  140.907
> ms  140.361 ms
>  8  217.148.210.25 (217.148.210.25)  136.375 ms  136.434 ms  136.533
> ms
>  9  teletube.net (217.69.112.34)  141.673 ms  142.107 ms  142.344 ms
>
> We are clearly understand that people in the conference don't work for
> us.
> But the conference is an only way  to contact the SPEWS
> administration. So we are posting here
> not to ask others to solve our problems, but to contact SPEW
> administration.
>
> In any way it is something strange to hear salutation as an 'asshat',
> while we are polite and patient.
>
> So what can we do?
>
> We will write to libero.it (server which refuse our mail due to
> belisted in SPEW),
> and show this thread.
> In any way the solution like bounce all mail from Russia looks great
> indeed 
> Hey people -- is it a serious place or some strange one?
>
> There was no evidence of our guilty, but we have to make explanation
> here and hear
> some strange response. Could you be so kind and workaround this
> problem?
>
>
> Dmitry Smirnov, Moscow, Russia,
> Astelit Ltd,
> support@astelit.ru, smirnov@astelit.ru
> +7 (095) 916-9911

We have no idea what's going on either. If you supply an IP address we might
be able to figure it out.







[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: What is going on?  
Moris


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
08-22-04 11:01 PM

JerryMouse wrote:

> If it were "Yeah, right" this is about the only example in
> English of two positives implying a negative.

Cut the crap, mouse.





[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: What is going on?  
JerryMouse


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
08-22-04 11:01 PM

Moris wrote:
> JerryMouse wrote:
> 
>
> Cut the crap, mouse.

Ah, the old "I cut, you choose" gambit.







[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: What is going on?  
Viper


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
08-22-04 11:01 PM

Dima A. Smirnov wrote:
> "McWebber" <mcwebber@my-deja.com> wrote in message
> news:<256dnRkbYdgs0rrcRVn-hQ@comcast.com>... 
>
> Sorry, this post was to be posted into spews s3061 thread.
>
> IP is 195.96.64.250 listed in the SPEWS base for some strange reason.
>
> It's looks inadequate that such a public list has no contact mail,
> just a conference.

195.96.64.250  isnt in spews..... try again...







[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Sponsored Links  




 





   All times are GMT. The time now is 04:41 PM.      Post New Thread    Post A Reply      
Pages (8): [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » ... Last »   Last Thread   Next Thread Next


Most Popular forums 

Forum Jump:
Rate This Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is OFF
 

Back To The Top
Home | Usercp | Faq | Register