Web Server forum
Back To The Forum Home!Search!Private Messaging System

This is Interesting: Free IT Magazines Now Free shipping to   
Web Server Talk Web Server Talk > Microsoft Windows software support > Windows 2000 Security > Strange access attempt




  Last Thread   Next Thread Next
  Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscribe to this Thread      Post New Thread    Post A Reply      

robw2k7399 is offline     Strange access attempt  
robw2k7399


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


Click Here to See the Profile for robw2k7399 Click here to Send robw2k7399 a Private Message Find more posts by robw2k7399 Add robw2k7399 to your buddy list
 
10-09-04 12:45 PM

I have my Sygate Personal Firewall set to ask me if Generic Host Processes t
ries to connect to the Internet.  Yesterday it prompted me that armyg1.army.
mil is trying to connect to Generic Host Processes.  Now, I don't work for t
he military or anything like that.  I denied the request.  A few minutes lat
er it asked again.  I did a Whois lookup on armyg1.XXXXXXXXX and came up with
 this:

143.84.99.16
Host unreachable

143.84.0.0 - 143.84.255.255

Headquarters, USAAISC
NETC-ANC CONUS TNOSC
Ft Huachuca
AZ
85613
United States

Cartagena, Lina
+1-800-305-3036
CARTAGENAA@hqasc.XXXXXXXXX
Bates, Joan
+1-520-538-1234
domain-request@aims7.XXXXXXXXX

NS01.XXXXXXXXX
NS02.XXXXXXXXX

ODS-NET17
Created: 1990-03-26
Updated: 2004-03-11
Source: whois.arin.net

I called the "800" number on this and a guy answered "I.T.".  I told him of 
the issue that I experienced and all he said was: "that IP is part of our pr
oxy range and our RC guys might have hit a proxy box."  "IT is nothing to wo
rry about okay sir?"

I this goofy or what?  I did some research and Ft Huachuca is the head of Army intellig
ence and also has a huge IT branch.  I also found a site that Lockheed Martin is involv
ed with an Electronic warfare program at Ft Hauchuca: http://www.it.lockheedmartin
.../FtHuachuca.cfm

I'm a pretty straight and narrow guy.  I mainly google search for school and
 check my e-mail.  What does this mean?




[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: Strange access attempt  
Joe


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
10-11-04 01:48 AM

Probably nothing unless it keeps happening, but even then it could be like
the IT person told you.

Joe


"robw2k7399" <robw2k7399.1dxmxf@mail.webservertalk.com> wrote in message
news:robw2k7399.1dxmxf@mail.webservertalk.com...
>
> I have my Sygate Personal Firewall set to ask me if Generic Host
> Processes tries to connect to the Internet.  Yesterday it prompted me
> that armyg1.XXXXXXXXX is trying to connect to Generic Host Processes.
> Now, I don't work for the military or anything like that.  I denied the
> request.  A few minutes later it asked again.  I did a Whois lookup on
> armyg1.XXXXXXXXX and came up with this:
>
> 143.84.99.16
> Host unreachable
>
> 143.84.0.0 - 143.84.255.255
>
> Headquarters, USAAISC
> NETC-ANC CONUS TNOSC
> Ft Huachuca
> AZ
> 85613
> United States
>
> Cartagena, Lina
> +1-800-305-3036
> CARTAGENAA@hqasc.XXXXXXXXX
> Bates, Joan
> +1-520-538-1234
> domain-request@aims7.XXXXXXXXX
>
> NS01.XXXXXXXXX
> NS02.XXXXXXXXX
>
> ODS-NET17
> Created: 1990-03-26
> Updated: 2004-03-11
> Source: whois.arin.net
>
> I called the "800" number on this and a guy answered "I.T.".  I told
> him of the issue that I experienced and all he said was: "that IP is
> part of our proxy range and our RC guys might have hit a proxy box."
> "IT is nothing to worry about okay sir?"
>
> I this goofy or what?  I did some research and Ft Huachuca is the head
> of Army intelligence and also has a huge IT branch.  I also found a
> site that Lockheed Martin is involved with an Electronic warfare
> program at Ft Hauchuca: http://tinyurl.com/3nycr
>
> I'm a pretty straight and narrow guy.  I mainly google search for
> school and check my e-mail.  What does this mean?
>
>
>
> --
> robw2k7399
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Posted via http://www.webservertalk.com
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> View this thread: http://www.webservertalk.com/message427958.html
>







[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Re: Strange access attempt  
andy smart


View Ip Address Report This Message To A Moderator Edit/Delete Message


 
10-11-04 07:48 AM

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

robw2k7399 wrote:
| I have my Sygate Personal Firewall set to ask me if Generic Host
| Processes tries to connect to the Internet.  Yesterday it prompted me
| that armyg1.XXXXXXXXX is trying to connect to Generic Host Processes.
| Now, I don't work for the military or anything like that.  I denied the
| request.  A few minutes later it asked again.  I did a Whois lookup on
| armyg1.XXXXXXXXX and came up with this:
|
| 143.84.99.16
| Host unreachable
|
| 143.84.0.0 - 143.84.255.255
|
| Headquarters, USAAISC
| NETC-ANC CONUS TNOSC
| Ft Huachuca
| AZ
| 85613
| United States
|
| Cartagena, Lina
| +1-800-305-3036
| CARTAGENAA@hqasc.XXXXXXXXX
| Bates, Joan
| +1-520-538-1234
| domain-request@aims7.XXXXXXXXX
|
| NS01.XXXXXXXXX
| NS02.XXXXXXXXX
|
| ODS-NET17
| Created: 1990-03-26
| Updated: 2004-03-11
| Source: whois.arin.net
|
| I called the "800" number on this and a guy answered "I.T.".  I told
| him of the issue that I experienced and all he said was: "that IP is
| part of our proxy range and our RC guys might have hit a proxy box."
| "IT is nothing to worry about okay sir?"
|
| I this goofy or what?  I did some research and Ft Huachuca is the head
| of Army intelligence and also has a huge IT branch.  I also found a
| site that Lockheed Martin is involved with an Electronic warfare
| program at Ft Hauchuca: http://tinyurl.com/3nycr
|
| I'm a pretty straight and narrow guy.  I mainly google search for
| school and check my e-mail.  What does this mean?
|
|
|
| --
| robw2k7399
| ------------------------------------------------------------------------
| Posted via http://www.webservertalk.com
| ------------------------------------------------------------------------
| View this thread: http://www.webservertalk.com/message427958.html
|
They are probably right, all sorts of traffic 'arrives at your front
door' by accident. Good job you're not a paranoid conspiracy theorist
isn't it?
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.2.5 (MingW32)
Comment: Using GnuPG with Thunderbird - http://enigmail.mozdev.org

 iD8DBQFBai+dqmlxlf41jHgRAufHAKDkrux6Of8W
jeOcLw2YenmfXuCszQCeLxjT
HzSXse5N7zpfOh4oAl8lieM=
=5LAw
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----





[ Post a follow-up to this message ]



    Sponsored Links  




 





   All times are GMT. The time now is 03:58 PM.      Post New Thread    Post A Reply      
  Last Thread   Next Thread Next


Most Popular forums 

Forum Jump:
Rate This Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is OFF
 

Back To The Top
Home | Usercp | Faq | Register